Electricity of Fruit? (and plants in general)

What is a human being? What is life? Can science give us reliable answers to such questions? The electricity of life. The meaning of human consciousness. Are we alone? Are the traditional contests between science and religion still relevant? Does the word "spirit" still hold meaning today?

Moderators: MGmirkin, bboyer

CameronN

Electricity of Fruit? (and plants in general)

Unread post by CameronN » Sat Jan 25, 2014 10:09 pm

This is perhaps a risky first post upon my acceptance to these forums, but I feel like this sub-category, which by the forum's own definition includes 'electricity of life,' is the best place to posit this idea. The overall issue of the electricity of life is IMO one of the most exciting yet deepest subjects for EU proponents to even begin exploring.

Before I share my simplistic thoughts a little background on myself. I'm a product designer by trade (i make stuff look nice, user friendly, and have good materials and colors like Jony Ive). I have very little rigorous scientific education apart from a few high school AP classes and only a single GE science class in university. Nevertheless, as a designer one of my strengths is visual intuition (love Bill Mullen's talk from EU 2013) and making connections between seemingly unrelated contexts. I definitely feel there is a lot more potential for visual connections, if only as a catalyst or jumping off point for actual experiment and conclusion.

The Idea to Explore:

How is fruit electrical?

What are the electrical properties, nature, and development of fruit growing on trees (IE an orange).

Connections I've made:

- Hexagonal structures in nature on all scales (molecules, beehives, crystals, Saturn, etc) - Fruit poles sometimes have a polygonal quality to them (Bananas, oranges, apples, Pineapple)